My Long, Slow Goodbye to Summer by Arnulfo Garcia

I start my summer by taking an early train to Coney Island and hanging on the beach for most of the day.  This usually takes place on a Monday when the rest of New York is either at work or school and it always feels like I have the whole place to myself.  It’s my kick-start to summer and I try getting to any beach there after.

This year we had an earthquake, hurricane and plenty of rain.  I don’t think I’ve seen this much weather action in one season the whole time I’ve lived in NYC.  It was the wettest summer ever on record. It definitely made getting away a bit of a challenge.

It’s now the end of September, still hot & muggy, and I’ve been ready for it to be over since early August.  My air conditioner is still installed in my window and on full blast most days. I look forward to not carrying my bandanna for those embarrassing instances when my face won’t stop sweating.  The sentimentality and charm of summer has faded.  I’m ready to start layering and wearing something other than Converse, shorts and a tee.

I hope you had a great summer.  I look forward to doing it again next year.

 

I LOVE HAIR!
For an appointment, please call 212-414-1333
 

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

