Style In My Space. By Timothy Stilson. I Love Hair!

For me, personal space should reflect personal style.  I want my friends and family to see me when they come into my living space.  What I like to do is intigrate a touch of old with the new, also juxtaposing two separate themes to create a nice mesh of flavor and style.

I also feel, each room should have a certain color scheme.  I like the idea of a bedroom having calming tones; grey blues and pale greens being my palate of choice.  The bathroom should be light and fresh, since that’s how you want to feel when you’re there right?  Browns, greens and orange tones for the kitchen invoke that sense of harvest.  Lastly for the living room/den/entertainment room I like something a little more bold.  You entertain here, so perhaps you want brighter and warmer hues.

Having too much of one texture in a room overwhelms and creates monotony for the eyes.  Alternatively, throwing in one or two other different material/texture types, like taking a raw butcher block island and placing it against/near the smoothness of  stainless steel appliences, lets the two textures compliment one another and create a sense of harmony in the space.

Just recently I was looking through architecturaldigest.com at the kitchens of some celebrities and I noticed Lance Armstrong’s Spanish-Colonial.  The combination of the granite counter tops and the stainless steel range, with earthy green cabinets and nice dark brown wood accents, against the bench style seating at the dining table stretched along a wall full of windows create a feeling of sleek class, while still including comfort and a bit of a homey ambiance.

No matter what, it’s nice to see each individul’s style come through in their living space.  Most importantly I think color and texture are key.

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

